top of page

ANZPRA Early Career Researcher (ECR) Award

​​The ANZPRA Early Career Researcher (ECR) Award is an initiative designed to enable ECRs to visit other laboratories to learn new techniques and/or advance collaborations, with the purpose to enhance the awardee’s career development. Such laboratory visits can be undertaken in conjunction with attendance at a major conference. The award may also provide opportunities for ECRs to gain vital skills and experience in preparing grant proposals.

ANZPRA are keen to get researchers engaged with each other again to help mitigate the impacts that Covid has had over the past few years.  To this end, we will be launching a special round of the ANZPRA ECR Award on the back of the IFPA-ANZPRA satellite meeting (where you may hopefully make some new connections and collaborations that this award could help you take advantage of!).  Applications in 2022 will close a few weeks after the IFPA-ANZPRA satellite on the 6th of December 2022, and should be submitted by email to by midnight (Australian Eastern Standard Time) on this date.


Applications must be prepared in consultation with the ECR’s supervisor/mentor, and the objective of the visit has been discussed with and supported by the host laboratory/research team, prior to the application being submitted. ​Applicants must be within 5 years of receiving their PhD (or highest degree), and must have been ANZPRA members for at least 12 months. Awards are valued at up to $1000AU.

This award will be a quick turnaround, with applications assessed immediately and outcomes notified the following week.

Full guidelines are available here.

The application form is available here.

ANZPRA New Investigator Award

Each year, ANZPRA awards the ANZPRA New Investigators Award to the best oral presentation at the Annual Scientific Meeting of the Society for Reproductive Biology (SRB) by a member who is a postgraduate student or within two years of receiving their PhD.


Eligibility criteria are as follows: 

- For PHD/MD Students (2nd year and above) and PhD/MD Graduates: Applicants must be ANZPRA members for at least 6 months prior to applying.

- For Honours students, MSc students and 1st year PhD students: Applicants must be ANZPRA members at the time of submission of the application


The award will be given on the basis of the quality of presentations at the meeting and will be judged by the ANZPRA Awards Committee which is comprised of representatives of the ANZPRA Executive and a member of the SRB Awards Committee. The award will be presented at the SRB/ANZPRA Conference gala dinner.

Awards will not be made if, in the judges' opinion, eligible presentations are not sufficiently meritorious. In order to be considered for the ANZPRA New Investigators Award, new investigators must tick the ANZPRA box when submitting their abstract.

Past awardees

  • 2020: Meaghan Griffiths, Monash University

  • 2019: Sarah Delforce, University of Newcastle.

  • 2018: Yao Wang, Hudson Institute of Medical Research

  • 2017: Anya Arthurs, University of Newcastle

  • 2016: Jacinta Kalisch-Smith, University of Queensland.

  • 2015: Rachael Crew, University of Western Australia

  • 2014: Sophea Heng, Hudson Institute of Medical Research, Melbourne

  • 2013: Dr Fiona Brownfoot, University of Melbourne

  • 2012: Kirsten Palmer, University of Melbourne

  • 2011: Georgia Kafer, University of Queensland

  • 2010: Chez Viall, University of Auckland for "Trophoblast antiphospholipid antibody internalisation by a β2 glycoprotein I-anionic phospholipid-megalin complex."

  • 2008: Ami Chui, University of Melbourne for "Homeobox gene  DLX3 regulates forskolin-induced trophoblast differentiation".

  • 2007: Gyathri Rajaraman, University of Melbourne for "Homeobox gene HLX1 is a mediator of HGF-stimulated trophoblast migration."

  • 2006: Joanna James, University of Auckland, for "The effects of oxygen concentration and gestational age on extravillous trophoblast outgrowth from first trimester villous explants."

  • 2005: Damien Hewitt, University of Western Australia for "Placental expression of secreted frizzled-related protein (SFRP4) in the rat: association with beta-catenin localization and regulation by glucocorticoids."


IFPA Awards

Each year IFPA (ANZPRA's parent organisation) distributes a number of awards to researchers of all levels, many associated with invited presentations at the IFPA annual meeting. 


For full details of these awards, and which awards are on offer in any given year, please visit:

For awards specifically relating to the IFPA 2023 meeting in Rotorua, NZ, please visit

bottom of page